Building an Economy that Works for Everyone

Is your Senator or Representative a leader on work-family issues?

Halfway through the 111th congressional session, recent headlines have focused almost exclusively on health care reform. But our elected officials have made progress on important work-family legislation as well:

  • The Healthy Families Act (House and Senate) has received overwhelming support. More than 125 Representative and Senators are co-sponsoring the legislation. The Act would provide a minimum amount of paid sick time to employees, so a routine illness doesn’t result in economic hardship. If passed, workers will no longer have to choose between their job and their family— ensuring economic insecurity isn’t just one flu season away.
  • The FIRST Act (Family Income to Respond to Significant Transitions) has 24 House co-sponsors in addition to its sponsor Rep. Lynn Woolsey. If passed, the bill would bolster existing paid leave programs – or fund new ones, like Washington’s Family Leave Insurance program. The FIRST Act helps states develop and implement paid paternal leave programs, as well as offer funding to cover care for a seriously-ill family member, injured service member or leave to recover from a worker’s own serious illness. These programs help workers during rare times of hardship, and offer benefits proven to strengthen economic security for individuals and businesses alike.

Take a moment to recognize those leaders who are putting families first by telling your elected official(s), in your own words, why their vote for working families earns your vote of confidence — and thank them for their support.

A list of sponsors and co-sponsors for both the Senate and House versions of the Healthy Families Act, as well as the FIRST Act (House only) is after the jump.

Healthy Families Act Healthy Families Act FIRST Act
House Senate House
Rep. Raul Grijalva AZ-7 Sen. Barbara Boxer CA Rep. Raul Grijalva AZ-7
Rep. Fortney Stark CA-13 Sen. Christopher Dodd CT Rep. Lynn Woolsey CA-6
Rep. Anna Eshoo CA-14 Sen. Joseph Lieberman CT Rep. Fortney Stark CA-13
Rep. Michael Honda CA-15 Sen. Joseph Biden DE Rep. Michael Honda CA-15
Rep. Zoe Lofgren CA-16 Sen. Daniel Akaka HI Rep. Diane Watson CA-33
Rep. Lois Capps CA-23 Sen. Daniel Inouye HI Rep. Rosa DeLauro CT-3
Rep. Brad Sherman CA-27 Sen. Thomas Harkin IA Rep. Eleanor Norton DC-0
Rep. Howard Berman CA-28 Sen. Richard Durbin IL Rep. Alan Grayson FL-8
Rep. Henry Waxman CA-30 Sen. Edward Kennedy MA Rep. Mazie Hirono HI-2
Rep. Hilda Solis CA-32 Sen. John Kerry MA Rep. Phil Hare IL-17
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard CA-34 Sen. Barbara Mikulski MD Rep. John Olver MA-1
Rep. Maxine Waters CA-35 Sen. Carl Levin MI Rep. Barney Frank MA-4
Rep. Linda Sánchez CA-39 Sen. Amy Klobuchar MN Rep. Chellie Pingree ME-1
Rep. Joe Baca CA-43 Sen. Frank Lautenberg NJ Rep. Keith Ellison MN-5
Rep. Bob Filner CA-51 Sen. Robert Menéndez NJ Rep. Carol Shea-Porter NH-1
Rep. Susan Davis CA-53 Sen. Hillary Clinton NY Rep. Robert Andrews NJ-1
Rep. Lynn Woolsey CA-6 Sen. Charles Schumer NY Rep. Donald Payne NJ-10
Rep. George Miller CA-7 Sen. Sherrod Brown OH Rep. Rush Holt NJ-12
Rep. Barbara Lee CA-9 Sen. Arlen Specter PA Rep. Steven Rothman NJ-9
Rep. John Larson CT-1 Sen. Robert Casey PA Rep. Timothy Bishop NY-1
Rep. Rosa DeLauro CT-3 Sen. Tim Johnson SD Rep. Carolyn Maloney NY-14
Rep. Christopher Murphy CT-5 Sen. Bernard Sanders VT Rep. Paul Tonko NY-21
Rep. Eleanor Norton DC-0 Sen. Patty Murray WA Rep. Maurice Hinchey NY-22
Rep. Kathy Castor FL-11 Sen. Russell Feingold WI Rep. Rubén Hinojosa TX-15
Rep. Kendrick Meek FL-17 Sen. John Rockefeller WV Rep. Robert Scott VA-3
Rep. Robert Wexler FL-19
Rep. Debbie W. Schultz FL-20
Rep. Corrine Brown FL-3
Rep. John Lewis GA-5
Rep. Madeleine Bordallo GU-0
Rep. Neil Abercrombie HI-1
Rep. Mazie Hirono HI-2
Rep. Jerry Costello IL-12
Rep. Phil Hare IL-17
Rep. Jesse Jackson IL-2
Rep. Luis Gutiérrez IL-4
Rep. Danny Davis IL-7
Rep. Janice Schakowsky IL-9
Rep. John Olver MA-1
Rep. James McGovern MA-3
Rep. Barney Frank MA-4
Rep. Edward Markey MA-7
Rep. Michael Capuano MA-8
Rep. Stephen Lynch MA-9
Rep. John Sarbanes MD-3
Rep. Elijah Cummings MD-7
Rep. Christopher Van Hollen MD-8
Rep. Michael Michaud ME-2
Rep. Carolyn Kilpatrick MI-13
Rep. John Conyers MI-14
Rep. Dale Kildee MI-5
Rep. Timothy Walz MN-1
Rep. Betty McCollum MN-4
Rep. Keith Ellison MN-5
Rep. James Oberstar MN-8
Rep. William Clay MO-1
Rep. Russ Carnahan MO-3
Rep. Emanuel Cleaver MO-5
Rep. David Price NC-4
Rep. Carol Shea-Porter NH-1
Rep. Donald Payne NJ-10
Rep. Rush Holt NJ-12
Rep. Albio Sires NJ-13
Rep. Frank Pallone NJ-6
Rep. William Pascrell NJ-8
Rep. Steven Rothman NJ-9
Rep. Shelley Berkley NV-1
Rep. Timothy Bishop NY-1
Rep. Edolphus Towns NY-10
Rep. Yvette Clarke NY-11
Rep. Nydia Velázquez NY-12
Rep. Carolyn Maloney NY-14
Rep. Charles Rangel NY-15
Rep. José Serrano NY-16
Rep. Nita Lowey NY-18
Rep. Maurice Hinchey NY-22
Rep. Carolyn McCarthy NY-4
Rep. Gregory Meeks NY-6
Rep. Jerrold Nadler NY-8
Rep. Anthony Weiner NY-9
Rep. Dennis Kucinich OH-10
Rep. Betty Sutton OH-13
Rep. Timothy Ryan OH-17
Rep. Earl Blumenauer OR-3
Rep. Robert Brady PA-1
Rep. Allyson Schwartz PA-13
Rep. Michael Doyle PA-14
Rep. Chaka Fattah PA-2
Rep. Joe Sestak PA-7
Rep. Steve Cohen TN-9
Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee TX-18
Rep. Ciro Rodriguez TX-23
Rep. Solomon Ortiz TX-27
Rep. Raymond Green TX-29
Rep. Al Green TX-9
Rep. James Moran VA-8
Rep. Donna Christensen VI-0
Rep. Jay Inslee WA-1
Rep. James McDermott WA-7
Rep. Tammy Baldwin WI-2
Rep. Gwen Moore WI-4
  • Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More To Read

April 17, 2024

2023-24 Impact and Gratitude Report

Reflecting on a year of progress and transition at EOI

April 12, 2024

Welcoming our New Executive Director, Rian Watt!

EOI is excited to begin its next chapter under new leadership

April 4, 2024

Is There a Valid Argument Against Cost-Free College in Washington?

Cost-free college is a meaningful investment that would change lives. What's stopping Washington from making it happen?