Overview: The Oregon Family Leave Act (OFL) requires employers of 25 or more employees to provide workers with job-protected leave to care for themselves or a family member in cases of illness, injury, childbirth, or adoption.
Eligibility : Workers in companies with 25 or more employees who have been employed at least 180 calendar days for an average of 25 or more hours per week. Workers on parental leave do not need to work a minimum number of hours, but must have been on the job at least 180 days.
· Serious health condition of the employee
· Serious health condition of the employee’s child (of any age), spouse, same-sex domestic partner, parent, or parent-in-law (including parent of domestic partner)
· Pregnancy or childbirth related disability and routine prenatal care
· Birth, adoption, or placement of a foster child
· Sick child requiring home care
Amount of leave:
· 12 weeks within any one-year period
· Women are entitled to an additional 12 weeks for pregnancy and childbirth related conditions
· Parents who take leave to care for a new child are entitled to an additional 12 weeks to care for a sick child
· Workers in companies of 50 or more who take leave for reasons covered by OFL but not FMLA would also be entitled to FMLA leave; when both OFL and FMLA apply, workers are only entitled to 12 weeks of leave
· While most workers would only qualify for 12 weeks in any year, men might be eligible for up to 24 weeks and women might be eligible for up to 36 weeks.
More To Read
September 28, 2023
To understand the needs and priorities of our state’s different regions, EOI is listening to the people and communities most impacted by our policy priorities.
September 12, 2023
Except billionaires. And even they lose.
September 6, 2023
Thanks to the work of advocates, thousands of Washington workers are already getting a better deal at work